Give Back in 2013

The new year is on the way, along with all those resolutions to save more money, eat less and exercise more, but why not make a new years resolution to volunteer more?

Whether you want to help combat a particular issue, make a real difference to someone’s life, meet new people, build your resume or learn about different cultures there are plenty of opportunities to help make a positive change to your local community.

Give Back spoke to people who have volunteered and helped make a difference to their local community this year.

Rebecca Le Marquand gave back to her local community by raising £2750 for Diabetes UK Cymru by cycling 480km over ten days in India.

 cycling across India to raise money for Diabetes Jersey

Rebecca Le Marquand cycling across India to raise money for Diabetes Jersey

What was your inspiration behind beginning this project?

A new year’s resolution! Every year my friend and I set a challenging new year’s resolution and this year we thought we would do a tough challenge for ourselves and also take it abroad.

Why did you chose this particular charity?

The next part of our challenge involved us deciding what charity to do it for. After thinking about people close to me I realized that quite a few had been affected by Diabetes, whether it be themselves directly or their family. Therefore it was an easy choice for me to choose Diabetes UK Cymru – I also wanted to support a local charity. Supporting a local charity I thought would also help me maximize my sponsorship raised as those supporting me would know the money was going straight back into this city. With Diabetes as well, so many people are affected by it that many people can relate to the cause.

Did you have much response from the community?

I had some great help from the charity itself, who were amazing in helping me organize events and provide support wherever I needed. My friends and family were also a great help and I couldn’t have raised the money without them. The local community were good as well, although was hoping for a little more support on some of my events. The most successful fundraising event I did was a bag pack on a Saturday morning and everyone was very generous!

Will you be doing anymore volunteering in 2013?

We are currently debating this, but it is looking like a marathon again.

Why do you think volunteering is important?

I think it is a great way to help causes without it costing anyone and arm and a leg – nothing is more valuable than time for these charities and they appreciate any help they can get. It is also a great feeling when they are so thankful.

All of the volunteers taking part in the 10km cycle

All of the volunteers taking part in the 10km cycle

Sarah Bartlet lives in Cardiff and spoke to Give Back about her experiences volunteering in her local charity shop in 2012. 

“I worked for a student-run charity shop based in Whitchurch for the George Thomas Hospice. I volunteered a couple of times a week and worked largely by myself in the shop, sorting out the items people had donated and manning the shop .I also had to help co-ordinate other students to ensure the shop wasn’t closed for much of the week.”

Why did you start volunteering?

“I began volunteering because I think it’s such an important thing for everyone to do. I guess for most people volunteering isn’t wholly altruistic as most people feel some level of gratification purely through giving up their time to help a cause they feel is worthwhile. George Thomas Hospice is such a worthy cause – the work hospices do is unbelievable to ensure the end of a person’s life is as comfortable, dignified and as happy as is possible. I think volunteering more generally can add definition to one’s life outside of work or education.”

Did you enjoy your volunteering experience?

“I loved my volunteering experience. Unfortunately I was unable to continue in my role with the charity once I entered my final year of university but I will definitely be volunteering again in the near future!”

Was it difficult to find volunteering opportunities in Cardiff?

“It isn’t difficult to find out about volunteering opportunities in the area. I mean mine was a student-led project so I found out about it through a Fresher’s fayre, but to volunteer for a cause you feel worthy is never difficult – all charities have websites all of which explain avenues to get involved.”

Do you think volunteering is important?

“Volunteering is hugely important. It allows an individual to give back to a cause they think is important. Without volunteers charities just wouldn’t be able to survive and without charities the world would be a much harsher and lonelier place. Volunteering also makes you feel like you are making a difference where perhaps other aspects of your life don’t make you feel quite so empowered.”

Chris Peilow, editor of sports blog Go Get Involved, volunteered for the London 2012 Olympic Games.

 

Chris Peilow and other volunteers at the London 2012 Olympic Games

Chris Peilow and other volunteers at the London 2012 Olympic Games

 

 

Why did you decide to volunteer at the London 2012 Olympic Games?

 I’ve always been a keen sports fan and I realised that hosting the Olympic Games in London, which is also where I grew up, was a once in a lifetime opportunity. It’s very easy to say in hindsight, but LOCOG really sold the idea at the time that the volunteers would “make the games” so successful, and that was over two years ago. I remember filling out a very long application form and attending interviews not really caring what role they would assign me to, as long as I could get involved.

Did you enjoy the experience?

I was an assistant to the Argentina National Olympic Committee for over six weeks, so I had a really hands-on role at the very heart of the games. Our role was to make sure the athletes had everything they needed at their disposal so they could concentrate on their performance. It was a different experience for me compared to most other volunteers because I was directly helping the Argentina team, in a country most had never been to. There were some very early starts, late nights and long drives, but I enjoyed every second – and that’s without mentioning my access to all the competition venues!

Have you volunteered since the Games?

I haven’t specifically volunteered but since moving to Cardiff I’ve tried to continue to explore the positive atmosphere the Games created. I’ve created an online blog called Go Get Involved promoting local sports clubs and assessing the legacy of the Games since the summer. It’s been quite eye-opening to witness the hard work people are putting into clubs, especially at grassroots level. It seems I’ve also taken the slogan “Inspire a Generation” a bit too seriously and have decided to run the 2013 London Marathon. As well as training I hope to raise £2500 for the Starlight Foundation which aims to brighten the lives of seriously and terminally ill children in the United Kingdom.

Give Back is hoping to continue to look at volunteering opportunities in Cardiff and collate a list of charities and organisations that would love support from volunteers in 2013. We’d love to hear from anyone who is in need of volunteers, or any volunteers who want to share their experiences, so please help us by filling in the form below so we can help you give back to your local community.

Happy New Year!

2 responses to “Give Back in 2013

  1. Pingback: Go Get Involved – with volunteering! | Go Get Involved·

  2. Pingback: Go Get Involved – in volunteering! | Go Get Involved·

Leave a comment